May 9 – your significant other

289/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me.  I’m very fortunate that I have a lot of friends and acquaintances.  On any given weekend, I could be out kicking it with a different crew be it a group (a ship) or just one person (a kayak).  I can easily mix it up with all sorts of people and am lucky that all sorts of people can mix it up with me as well.  One of the things that makes this so easy is the great partners/spouses that my friends have.  I have female friends whose husbands/boyfriends/partners understand our friendships – yes, men and women can be friends.  I have male friends whose wives/girlfriends/partners also let them hang out with the old guy!  I also have a spouse who is on the same page as the aforementioned people.  I do know of spouses/partners/lovers who are threatened by their partner’s outside life and don’t allow (yes, allow) their partner to socialize or if they do, they have to be a part of it.  I can’t fathom that.  What makes a relationship strong is trust and allowing the other person to flourish rather than wilt.  Relationships can be awesome but, with the exception of a very few, most couples don’t have everything in common and that’s why friendships are important and vital so that each partner can have a night or two out and still appreciate and be a part of what they have at home.  So, to my friends’ significant others, I appreciate the countless times you’ve probably said “That Randy again?!” but then just smiled and told them to have fun!  😉

Leave a Reply

