May 6 – walk this way

286/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me.  One of my strengths which is also one of my greatest weaknesses is my work ethic.  I work hard at whatever I take on which is a good thing.  However, I also expect others around me to do the same thing which is a bad thing.  I know people are different and completely understand that but I tend to forget even though I have a Psych minor.  I know about personalities but for some odd reason, still expect people to be like me when it comes to career.  Four years ago, I started a new chapter in my working life by starting a teaching job at McNair school – I knew no one at the school.  To say I had a tough go of things that first year would be an understatement but here I am four years down the road and loving it.  I also didn’t realize the power of leadership until this new position – both good and bad.  The one constant in the administrative department has been Wennie who is a vice principal.  Yes, in the beginning I had to scope her out as of course I’m sure she did with me but over the years we have carved out a great working relationship and this past year have become friends – not necessarily do those two things go hand in hand.  I respect her dedication to career, her work ethic (yes, just like mine) and her love and focus on her family and her immense knowledge of technology.  Having a tech background myself, I appreciate someone who knows what they are talking about and on the odd occasion I need help (especially with new software for grades and attendance), Wennie has been there for support.  She has also been integral in getting me to consider other career alternatives – one that I have been pondering because of her faith in my abilities.  Alas, just when you think things are going awesome, of course things have to change and out of the blue comes the information that she is being moved to my old haunting grounds (Burnett Secondary).  Our loss is a huge gain for Burnett.  I’m really glad that I worked with you Wennie but even gladder (is that a word?) that we’ve become friends.  Here’s to more future outings and becoming better friends!

Leave a Reply

