January 4 -kindness epitomized

164/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. Heart of Gold. We’ve heard that being used to describe a person but have you met someone who genuinely fits that descriptor? I believe I have only ever met one person who wholeheartedly epitomized the phrase. George L was the kindest man. He was the vice principal at the first school that I had a long-term job at. Of course, I was nervous and thought all the administrators had way more power and influence over me than they really had – yes, I was naïve 😉 George was one of three admin team members and I worked with him while he was at the tail end of his career and I was just starting out. I could go to George and just chat about things and he was like a father figure – always giving me good advice without ever judging what I was doing negatively. I can’t recall one instance where we ever disagreed on any matter. However, the best thing I remember about George was his kindness – always bringing in food to feed the masses: chicken wings, home-made sushi, and other such treats. I would make a point of going to the office just to see (and sample) what might be waiting for me and get two or more in before the others 😉 George also opened up his home to the staff for frequent parties and social events and what a home it was!!! He was on top of technology when technology was in its infancy. The biggest screen tv/movie theatre that nothing current can rival. Amazing sound system. So much food cooked for us – bellies full whenever we went over. And the bar!! To die for!! And it was an open bar!! Yeah, to die for! He never expected any compensation in return except for us to be happy and having a good time. George and his wife did it all because of who they were – amazing, wonderful people. I have since lost touch with George but I wanted to extend my warmest thanks for making my beginning years in teaching a thing I look back upon with fondness. I steal an extra futo-maki in your honour! Awesome man you are George!

One thought on “January 4 -kindness epitomized

  1. George Lum

    Hi Randy,
    When Eric told me that your wrote something about me during our years at J.N. Burnett Secondary, I was reminded about what a pleasure it was working with you as you were one the most bubbly, energetic and enthusiastic teachers ever! The students you have taught benefited greatly from you. The teaching staff, too, enjoyed your positive and friendly ways!

    It will be 20 years this June since retiring from Burnett and no doubt you are still in the prime of your teaching career. Thank you for your very kind words and may you continue to positively influence the students that are fortunate to have you as a role model!

    Best Regards,
    George (and Tomi) Lum

    Like

Leave a Reply

