December 12 – friends in high places

141/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. I am very fortunate that I have some good friends. I’m not the type of guy that hangs with the same group of friends all the time though. I guess because of my eclecticity (I just made up a word 😉 ), I have several different friends. I have my gym friends, I have my after Friday beer boys, I have my school teacher friends, I have my family friends, in addition to singletons and others that I hang out with. I am very thankful that I have such a wide social circle and really appreciate the good times I have with each and every one. One group, that in itself is very eclectic, is made up of myself and three others. We all met during our teaching careers at Burnett and socialized here and there but in the last 5 years, we have made a concerted effort to get together at least three times a year minimum. We are a diverse crew: former Chemistry teacher, former English teacher, current Art teacher and myself, current Psychology and Marketing teacher. One of these group members has been a very kind and supportive friend to me nearing 15 years. I first met Kirsten as this ultra cool, hip, blonde new art teacher. We fast became friends even though we didn’t really hang outside of the school environment. I loved walking into her class to look at what her students were doing, what Kirsten herself was working on or just to hang and chat – and she had no problem whenever I popped by as anytime was a good time. Surprisingly, we became much better and closer friends when I left the school in 2009 to go work at the University of British Columbia. That’s when all four of us started to make an effort to get together as we were no longer bound by the same institutional walls. Kirsten is always a positive person, has a kind demeanour, and a supportive word plus a wicked sense of humour – I can just sit back and listen to her tell her stories and be enthralled. Thank you buddy for being such an amazing friend thus far and I look forward to many more decades of friendship. In your honour, I toast you with a $15 martini!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

