November 29 (late) – nurse me to health

128/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. So I get this big story on Vancity Buzz about my Gratitude Blog and then I go MIA. Before I explain, let me say that I am going to live up to 365 posts but I will be catching up in the next few days and writing two a day because of the delay and what was the delay? I was hospitalized with 4 broken ribs and a punctured and subsequent collapsed lung. I am back home after 4 days and on the mend. In addition to missing family, teaching and living life, I did long to get back to writing after almost a week away but I’m back. Although not someone who had an impact on me until this past week, I must absolutely thank the wonderful nurses at Richmond General Hospital. I had almost a dozen different nurses take care of me over my four days in the hospital and with perhaps the exception of one, each and every one of them went out of their way to ensure that I was comfortable even though 2 of my 4 days was waiting around in Emergency until they found me a bed. Complications arose and I slipped in and out of a medically induced haze but the nurses reassured me that I would be better bringing me liquids and medication like clockwork (okay, I guess it is clockwork since they have a chart for me but I rarely had to ask).   I was in awe at how hard they worked and were running around from patient to patient and not just going through the routine but had general empathy and cared for the well being of their patients. Yes, there are hundreds and hundreds of people behind the scenes in making a hospital run and yes, it is a job but those nurses on the front line made me feel that I mattered even if it was a simple smile or going out of their way and getting me something to eat when I got lost in the shuffle, it made the physically and mentally painful stay just that much less so. Thank you nurses of BC, I refuse my next blood test in your honour 😉

Leave a Reply

