November 14 – i regain the power

113/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. We all have people in our lives that we would be better off not having around us because of the negativity they bring us. Yes, we could confront them or avoid them but that is easier said than done and in the end, most of us just keep on keeping on allowing them the power to bring us down. I am about positivity and I try to keep that in my life; however, I have been caught up in the gossip and drama of “friends” from time to time only to later realize the power I allowed such people and the negativity they were breeding in me. Luckily though, I was able to make right by separating myself from such people and atone for my part in the negativity I allowed them to create – yes, by not standing up to them in the first place, I was just as responsible. However, without such experiences, I wouldn’t realize the good that I have in me and (in essence) I needed those experiences to allow me to reflect on who I am and what I want to be and how I want to affect people. I remember hearing the lyrics to a song that resonated with me and I use the words as my mantra – “having a bad day, better deal with it. if you’re playing games, no time for it. if you’re bringing pain, gonna run from it. don’t mess up my day. I’m the only one whose responsible for me having fun and you can’t take my happiness”. Yes, it’s a cheesy 90s song but it reminds me of the capacity that I have for my own happiness and can not allow others to take away from me. Thank you so called “friends” – if not for you, I would not understand the true meaning of what friendship really is and can be. In your/my honour, I let you go to make myself that much happier.

Leave a Reply

