November 6 – in the company of others

105/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. I am light and frivolous – I could and should hold deeper, meaningful conversations about regional, national or even global issues but I tend to shy away from such topics. Perhaps, it’s because I feel that I don’t have any further insight to shed on such dialogue or that I may not be as well versed on say the political landscape or the environment as the people I am speaking with. Regardless of the reasons, I rarely share my opinions on such topics lest I be judged. I met Dennis through a friend of mine about a decade ago but have gotten to know him better vis a vis a group of guys (to which Dennis and I belong) that gets together about 4 times a year and have been doing so for several years now. During these Men’s Nights Out, we hit the trendiest restaurants Vancouver has to offer, have the best drinks and engage in, for the most part, intellectual conversation which of course gets me a bit nervous; however, Dennis puts me at ease. He is a great conversationalist and has interesting insights into what is going on in the world. My first few times conversing with him were a bit unnerving as I didn’t really know what to say and how to express myself eloquently but interestingly enough, we were on the same page opinion-wise and that made it much easier. Over the past several years, we have gotten to know each other better and I think he appreciates my quirkiness – I mean, I sabotaged his margarita making party at his place and stuck a Corona into it and walked outside to his amusement! I feel privileged to have Dennis as a friend and to engage in stimulating exchanges with him. Thank you Dennis for enlightening me on things going on that I had no clue about and for also being a great friend. In your honour, I go beyond the surface and dig a little deeper! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

