September 28 – looks are everything ;)

66/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. If you know me personally or even if you don’t but have seen me on social media, you know that I’m a chameleon when it comes to my appearance – especially my hair. This post isn’t all about my looks though but let me continue. I have had it in several different styles and colours since the age of 19 – that asymmetrical Flock of Seagulls look still makes me cringe as does the yellow straw blonde. I was told all my life that I would lose my hair or damage the follicles but here I am at 50 and going strong on my quest for a man-bun – yeah, maybe I’m at the tail end of the trend but I can’t be accused of being a quitter. My hairdresser Suzie has been instrumental in changing up my looks – from giving me trendy fashion forward cuts to dying and re-dying my hair to my satisfaction. She convinced me to slowly go my current natural salt n pepper and that has been one of the best looks-wise decisions I have made. Suzie has gotten to know me and vice versa – the typical bartender/bar patron scene taking place in a hair salon. I am amazed by her positivity as the struggle that she has been through in her personal life – comparable to mine on some levels – has also made her into a strong woman. A strong business woman as well. She keeps her head up and continues doing her best with her family and work life. Although she is technically a stranger to me as we don’t fraternize outside of the hair salon, I feel that I’ve learned a lot about struggle, persistence, resilience and positivity from her. Thank you Suzie for being not only my hair dresser but someone who allows me to put my life into perspective. I dab some pomade on your behalf!

Leave a Reply

