September 25 – how to lead 101

63/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. I never realized the benefit of a good leader as I’ve always been fortunate that the people that I’ve worked with, aside from one exception, have led effectively. I have never required anything from the leaders that I’ve worked with except acting as the occasional sounding board for advice whenever I might be second-guessing my own actions/decisions.   I just naturally accepted that leaders did their job and didn’t really affect mine – this is because most of the leaders that I have had the opportunity to work with have been able to sail the rough seas and keep the ship on course by the use of their well-honed skills and personality traits and not let the seas dictate their captaining style. I have to say my current administrator Jason falls into this category of a good leader. I forgot the importance of effective leadership until he took the helm. He has a quiet calm and leads by example. He takes time to reflect and consider the impact of his actions. He doesn’t let emotion get the best of him. He has people skills and allows dialogue and discussion on “hot topic” issues. He also knows when and how to own up to and apologize for any mistakes/oversights. He respects all people. One needs a leader in the workplace but one that knows how to lead well and to lead fairly. I am once again in a place where I am doing my own thing, have the autonomy to make my own decisions and am trusted to do my job to the best of my abilities based on my knowledge, expertise and experience because of Jason’s hands off style – trust is there on both sides. Rest assured, I have an administrator to go to when and if I need to. Thank you Jason for allowing me to once again flourish because of your leadership style.

Leave a Reply

