September 20 – you will always be my MC

58/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. We all have our celebrity idols – sports stars that have inspired us to achieve, movie stars that channel our inner passions and musicians who sing to our souls. I have been fickle when it comes to celebrities – I like this one for a few weeks, that one for a few more but never anyone that speaks to me through their art and more importantly rouses me in any significant way except for one. Laugh you will at my musical tastes and I’m prepared for it but this is my gratitude list 😉 Some people turn to substances, others to food, while others use exercise or therapy to get through life’s moments but this artist’s music has gotten me through years and years of what life throws at me. I share my happiness with all but I share my sorrow with myself. Those rare times that I’m down, I just have to click on the B-list singles “Through the Rain”, “Up Out of My Face”, “H.A.T.E.U.”, “Standing O” and “Crybaby” or the A-list “Someday”, “I Still Believe” or “I Don’t Wanna Cry”. Mariah Carey breaks through for me – yes, it is all unicorns and glitter and butterflies and there is absolutley nothing wrong with that. I may not have the best musical taste but I know what I like and what moves me to the core. From 1990’s “Vision of Love” to 2015’s “Infinity”, MC has gotten me through 25 years (half my life) of the good times and the bad. Yes, her diva image has been questioned by many but her music is unquestionable – from mega-ballads to the biggest rap stars featured on her singles to day-glow dance singles – hey, 18 #1 singles speaks for itself. Thank you MC for providing me with an escape each and every day. Life is tough but my music doesn’t have to be.

Leave a Reply

