September 13 – you are a mystery

51/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. Thus far, the people who I have thanked have been people I know or have met. Today’s gratitude post is about a person who just allowed me escape into other worlds. Growing up and going through the difficulties of my childhood, I needed an outlet. I turned to four staples – food, music, books and television. Most of them were healthy diversions and allowed me the needed respite to tackle what the rest of the days would throw at me. I developed an insatiable appetite for mystery novels during early high school (after my foray into the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew during my elementary years). I was suggested Agatha Christie novels and I absolutely fell in love with the intricacies of the “whodunit” plot and would be engrossed in her novels for hours on end. Her books allowed me to escape into a Victorian era full of eccentric characters and over the top plotlines that were the needed antithesis of what my life was. ‘And Then There Were None’ was the first book I ever read from her and I was immediately enthralled. Unfortunately, no subsequent Agatha Christie book quite lived up to that initial read but I, nonetheless, have enjoyed her books for the pure entertainment that a mystery novel is all about. Thank you Agatha Christie for not only providing me with hours of escapism that were necessary to get me through my teenage years but also for instilling in me the love of fiction literature. I turn a page for you!

Leave a Reply

