September 12 – Saluti my italian friend

50/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. Coworkers can make your work environment fun and satisfying or a nightmare. If you are lucky, you become friends with your coworkers and want to socialize with them out of the workplace. If you are even luckier, you continue to remain friends if one or the other moves on. I have been very fortunate in that I have had amazing friendships inside the workplace with most of my coworkers and outside of the workplace with a select few. Paolo, my 6 foot 3 Italian buddy, is one of those people who falls into the latter category. I met Paolo about 15 or so years ago when I was teaching at Burnett. He was an Educational Assistant working with at risk boys. I got to know him through the work social channels. I got to know him even better as a few of us started socializing outside. Even though Paolo left the school to pursue other career goals shortly afterwards, our friendship continued to develop and evolve after a small hiatus when we briefly lost touch with each other. Paolo has always been very supportive of me and is the one friend I know who always gives me positive affirmation. He always has a compliment for me – be it about my children, my regard for life, my teaching skills – just about anything. I also think highly of him. He is an amazing man who is a good husband and a good father. He is a loyal friend. Has a great fashion sense! Has an even better sense of music – introducing me to electronic music. I am very glad that Paolo and I met and have stayed friends over the years. Saluti my friend!!

Leave a Reply

