September 5 – you walked by and changed me

43/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. I am very fortunate to have a generally positive nature and outlook on life – it’s just an innate personality trait that I seem to possess. However, there are those rare occurrences – perhaps twice in a year – that I get slightly down but am able to rebound fairly quickly because of an unknown person who literally crossed my path. Many, many years ago, I happened to be in a funk one afternoon and decided to go for a drive. I aimlessly navigated through my city of Richmond and ended up in the downtown core. As I was sitting at the light feeling all sorts of ugly, I looked at the people walking the crosswalk and noticed a person who was in their late 30s/early 40s. I wasn’t sure of their gender but they had a full size torso, an adult head and adult length arms but childlike legs – they were no more than three feet in height. It took me a moment to comprehend what I was seeing and I continued to watch them as they finished their trek across the street and soldiered on. At that moment, I started to question what was wrong with me and why I was feeling so low. Upon further reflection during my drive, I decided that average can be just awesome – I have nothing to feel bad about as I am “normal” and that can’t be said for everyone. I don’t want to belittle the person I saw that day by saying that they aren’t living an amazing life and I also want to establish that this gratitude post is not meant to make light of anyone’s condition – but in that moment it just put my life into perspective for me. I do have a lot to be grateful for everyday and I thank that person for helping me see it that particular day and thereon out as I continue to go back to that memory anytime I find myself slipping into a grey haze and shift my focus on the positives that I have.

Leave a Reply

