September 3 – McDs for life

41/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. People, at times, complain about Facebook but I have nothing but great things to say as I have used it as a tool in many ways and one is to reconnect with people. Back in the day, I used to work at McDonald’s and there was this really cool girl Natalie who was the crew chief – basically an acting manager type who would run the shift. Geeky me would end up with the closing shift many times in a week until midnight and it would be Natalie and myself usually for the last hour with many colourful characters stumbling in for their last minute cholesterol clogging fix 😉 I was seriously intimidated by Natalie – for someone the same age as me, she seemed to be so with it: organized, popular, worldly, beautiful, knowledgeable and in a position of power (hey, I was just a lowly counter person). I enjoyed working with her and we had good times but as you are finishing your teen years and moving on to other avenues of live, the inevitable happened and we lost touch with each other. Through the power of Facebook, I hunted her down and found her even though her last name was different. We ended up reconnecting a few years back and met for drinks and dinner and after it was over, the requisite – “yeah, let’s do this again soon” was mentioned and the inevitable occasional LIKE and comment on Facebook occurred until last year. I needed advice on rentals, properties, living, life and Natalie came through – all the way from Mission almost bi-weekly and became my realtor helping me hunt for places but more importantly she gave me that mental “holding of my hand” through my situation. We went for lunches, beers, talks, open houses – oh so many open houses and reconnected but as adults sharing about life and realness. We became friends again! Really good friends! I could not have gotten through last year without a lot of support from people and Natalie is right there up at the top of that list. Natalie, I am so very glad you came back into my life and appreciate your friendship – you are one of the nicest women I know, so sweet, strong, compassionate and genuine and I hope we continue our friendship for as long as we are alive (and that’s going to be a long time!!).

Leave a Reply

