July 25 – my birthday all because of my mom

1/365 – people to thank who’ve had an impact on me. Today, well, it is my mom. If not for her, I’d not be me and well, it wouldn’t be my birthday. My mom won’t see this post as she’s not on FB but I hope that some of my family will relay this to her. She had me at 19 years of age 50 years ago today. She was just a teen mom and less than 1 year in Canada and her marriage to my dad was arranged, sight unseen until she met him at the wedding! She had to raise me and my sister basically on her own as my father was institutionalized in Riverview (paranoid delusional schizophrenic) for most of my childhood from about when I was 7 to about 16 (I have never publicly acknowledged this until today). Through crazy circumstances, we would at times be homeless or in a women’s shelter or with relatives while my mom was hospitalized but no matter what, she would always be there for us. My mom did the best she could and taught me work ethic and how to get by with very little and to be a good person. Yes, I grew up very fast and had a lot of responsibilities thrown on me but I know, even though she has never been able to say “I love you”, that I am loved by her and I want to say that I love my mother very much as she is the woman who created the man I am today!

Leave a Reply

