August 26 – the guy who gets me out of my comfort zone

33/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. It’s funny how some of our best friends and closest confidants result from chance based simply on proximity – the people that you work with. About a decade ago at the school I taught at, a position came up in the Business department and since I was department head, I was tasked with finding out if there were any qualified candidates for the job posting. Through teaching contacts, I heard good things about a teacher from the Yukon, Rob, and so I made a concerted effort in getting him hired without ever having met him. Successfully, he transitioned into the department and we not only developed an amazing professional working relationship but, much more importantly, a meaningful friendship over the years. I have learned so much from Rob: sharing laughs trying to team-teach Keyboarding to ESL students who had no clue what we were doing, traveling to the Yukon and Alaska with my city boy requirements, learning about and changing my lifestyle to natural and organic products, getting out of my comfort-zone to experience new things such as hiking and camping, opening up my mind to meditation and alternative healing practices and the most important – letting things happen, learning from and then moving on from such experiences. Our friendship solidified to new-found levels over this past year as both of us were going through similar life circumstances and I was able to discuss life and its many intricacies with him – in essence, I had a shoulder to lean on. Rob, I truly appreciate all the new things that you have introduced to me which enrich my life. I am thankful that we had such a great working relationship and miss the good times teaching with you. I appreciate all the support you have given me over the years and especially this past year. You have had such a profound impact on me and have forever changed me for the better! I am so glad I met you and that we have become such amazing friends and I hope our friendship lasts until we are retired old men meeting up for a drink and reminiscing about the past and toasting to our future years of friendship! Cheers to you Rob!

Leave a Reply

