August 13 – comm to me

20/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. After high school, I was fortunate enough to be admitted straight away into UBC. I wasn’t really sure which field I wanted to pursue and being indo-canadian, the only son and having an opportunity to go to university, I felt the pressure to go into a field to please my mom rather than something I’d enjoy (and to be honest, I didn’t know what I would enjoy). I ended up applying for Commerce – unlike at present, you completed your first year as a pre-requisite to see if you could get into the subsequent 4 year degree. I was selected along with 200 others from about 800 or so applicants and I just went with it even though my heart wasn’t into it. In that second year (first year of the Commerce degree), I met Flora and Gladys who would become my partners for various coursework and assignments. I fondly remember getting together on weekends to study for exams and working into late hours with these two on various projects. Although we didn’t socialize outside of the Commerce building, these two ladies were a valuable support system for me in those first two years before I declared my major and went my own path. I was so glad that I immediately made a connection with them and if ever I get the chance to run into them in person, I have to thank them for the help and encouragement they provided me in a degree program that wasn’t where my heart was. Thank you Flora and Gladys.

Leave a Reply

