August 11 – those were the days

18/365 – people to thank who have had an impact on me. So today the shout out goes to Sylvia. I haven’t seen her or heard from her since I was 8 years old when my family moved from Queensborough to Richmond. Sylvia was my first true friend – she was both kind and mean and that may seem dichotomous but you will understand that as I finish this post. We lived on Ewen Avenue in Queensborough and all the other kids lived on Lawrence Street around the corner. We actually did the typical things that kids did…rode our bikes, fished for tadpoles, chased trains, sneak into the golf course to collect balls, fed apples to the horses – no we didn’t live in the country, this is the way life was back in the day in the city! Sylvia would have been either the same age or a year older than me. I remember the time we decided to see what was in a golf ball and so experimented in her basement by cutting it open and well, I’m just glad we both had our eyes after that procedure went horribly awry! LOL At times Sylvia would be the queen bee and we had to follow her rules – and that was good for a boy like me to understand that I don’t get my way and have to listen…although her rules were outrageous at times – I specifically remember one incident that required putting your fingers in her chicken pen and having to be nipped 3 times before I could play with her. I didn’t play with her for a week. Yeah, I was weak and yeah, she came to my place and changed the rules so we could still play 😉 From throwing up on her at Playland in the Octopus to sleepovers at her place (I remember her siblings Frank and Cindy), I thank you Sylvia for being my first friend before that fateful move to Richmond. I often wonder how I would have turned out if we had stayed in Queensborough and grown up together. i hope one day to reconnect and reminisce – cheers to you Sylvia wherever you are!

Leave a Reply

