July 26 – if i could only find you in person

2/365 – people to thank who’ve had an impact on me. This one goes out to a guy who I met for 15 or so minutes in 1990 and ended up changing my life forever. I don’t know who you are, what your name is or anything at all about you but I owe you so much and you will never know. I was working at Social Services and Housing (welfare) after finishing university and was permanent float (working in various offices). I happened to be at the Seymour office and was on my lunch break. This other younger guy was there too. I sat down and we struck up a simple conversation and he asked me how I got the job. Told him I had a Commerce degree but I can’t see myself being that guy and that I wanted to make a difference and help people. Right there his next few comments changed my life – he told me that I was at the wrong end at welfare and should make the difference at the beginning – I should be a high school teacher! He put the bug in my ear and because of this random stranger, I have the most fulfilling career ever and I thank him each and every day as I love my career so much. I owe him everything!

Leave a Reply

